Mark Quiah, a former official at Liberia's Roberts International Airport, has been named as a defendant in the country's US$317 million cocaine case. However, a review of the indictment document reveals that his name is not listed among the accused in any of the 11 counts. Quiah was dismissed from his position on July 30, amid a purge of security officials by President Joseph Boakai. His role in the alleged cocaine trafficking operation is described in eight counts of the indictment.
According to the indictment, Quiah was recruited by Caycee Nelson, who allegedly managed the cartel's front airline, Afri-Connect Airlines. Quiah allegedly asked for US$250,000 to help the operation through the airport and received US$50,000 up front. He was also given two phones "for communication." The indictment states that Quiah "knew and had reasons to know" the cartel planned to move cocaine through Liberia to Europe and "accepted to provide the required assistance."
Despite being named as a defendant, Quiah's name is not listed among the accused in any of the 11 counts. The indictment describes his alleged role in the operation, but does not specify any actions he took at the airport. The cocaine seized at Cement Road, by the State's own account, came in by sea and canoe up the Po River. The indictment also mentions that the cartel's aircraft, bought in August 2025, landed at Spriggs Payne, not at Roberts International.
There are inconsistencies in the indictment regarding Quiah's job title and name spelling. The caption calls him a former Deputy Director of Operations at the Civil Aviation Authority, while other paragraphs place him at Roberts International Airport as "Deputy Manager for Operations." His name is spelled both Quiah and Kuiah. Government statements at the time of his dismissal described him as Deputy Director for Operations at RIA.
Quiah's lawyers are likely to argue that he was indicted without being clearly charged in any count, and may seek to quash the indictment on that ground. Prosecutors may argue that the caption, general allegations, and closing clause are enough to put him on notice. It is unclear whether the omission is a drafting error or something more deliberate.
There have been reports that Quiah has been helping investigators and providing information since his dismissal. The Ministry of Justice has not publicly confirmed whether Quiah is a cooperating witness. He is not among the witnesses listed in the indictment, which names only three police officers and "documentary evidence." It is unclear whether he has been taken into custody since the writ was issued.
Another individual, George Wah Harris, who was charged in the US$317 million cocaine probe, is also missing from the indictment. Harris, who owns Private Bar Entertainment Center in Paynesville, was announced as a charged person in early August, but his name does not appear in the indictment. Instead, he appeared in a separate case related to the June airport seizure.
Key points
- Mark Quiah's name is missing from the list of accused in all 11 counts of the US$317 million cocaine case, despite being named as a defendant.
- The indictment describes Quiah's alleged role in the operation, but does not specify any actions he took at the airport.
- There are inconsistencies in the indictment regarding Quiah's job title and name spelling.